Author Topic: Tidal system  (Read 883 times)

Resin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Tidal system
« on: April 24, 2017, 06:18:46 PM »
I was interested in implementing tides in a game, have you approached this before? It seems like Suimono and Tenkoku might be well suited for this.

Chingwa

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1587
    • View Profile
    • Tanuki Digital
Re: Tidal system
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2017, 06:24:30 PM »
There is not a tide system in Suimono.  I think this is something best left up to individual developers.  You should be able to simulate this fairly easily by just adjusting the y-position of the Suimono surface over time.

Chingwa

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1587
    • View Profile
    • Tanuki Digital
Re: Tidal system
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2017, 06:26:08 PM »
Actually I do agree that they are well suited to tides when combined together.  But it just isn't something that most people want... and more than that I think it has the potential to confuse a bunch of people.  I'd rather leave full control of the water height to the needs of each developer.

Resin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Tidal system
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2017, 01:21:58 AM »
I understand. Thank you for the fast response. I guess a timed change in Y axis would probably make more sense then trying to call information from the Moon layer of Tenkoku (I have just barely started playing with it and am figuring this out as I go).